TEXAS CHL CERTIFICATION CLASSES
♦ PO BOX 3403 ♦ Pflugerville ♦ TX ♦
SERVING AUSTIN AND SURROUNDING AREAS
“Freedom isn’t free! Someone had to pay for it!”
The State of Texas has adopted legislation that allows its law abiding citizens to carry concealed handguns for self protection. Obtaining a Concealed Handgun License for the State of Texas requires successful completion of a minimum 10 hour certification course which is outlined by the Texas Department of Public Safety and covers topics on the use of force, gun safety, gun storage, conflict resolution and Texas laws pertaining to use of force as a defense, licensing requirements and laws regulating concealed handgun license holders.
To obtain a Concealed Handgun License in the State of Texas you must complete the 10 hour course which includes qualifying with a handgun and passing a 50 question exam, You must submit a set of electronic fingerprints and You must apply to the state and pay the current fees and undergo a complete background check for the state to issue a license. There is no certain order these need to be completed in.
All CHL applicants are now required to submit electronic fingerprints to DPS. (Old style fingerprint cards are no longer accepted.) Electronic fingerprints are done by L1 Solutions and must be scheduled through their website and are NOT done at the CHL class. Click here to schedule your fingerprints
Students may complete their State of Texas Online Application Package and then attend the class. This completed packet along with the required proficiency certificate issued by the instructor can then be returned to the DPS to complete the application process.
Freedom Services offers Texas Concealed Handgun Classes as well as Current CHL Holders Renewal Classes.
In addition, we offer new shooter / new gun owner basic firearm handling, shooting and cleaning lessons. Please take a few minutes to browse our website and we feel you will find quite a bit helpful information concerning the Texas CHL Program and laws relating to legally carrying a handgun in this state. If you have any questions please visit our Contact Page or you can proceed right to scheduling your class on our Services Page.
Thank you for stopping by!